"I got a citation! What do I do?"
- When you signed your citation, you promised to appear before the Tomball Municipal Court no later than the Court date listed on the citation. You must appear in Court on your scheduled Court date if you do not pay the scheduled fine or enter a plea beforehand. Phone calls, emails, and FAX's do not count as appearances.
- Your signature on the citation is not a guilty plea. You have a right to contest the charges against you. You have a right to plea "Not Guilty" and have a trial before a judge or jury.
- You may be able to resolve your citation without coming to Court. Go to our "Resolving Your Citation" page to better understand your options.
- If you hire an attorney, your attorney may come to Court for you and appear in your place.
- If you are unable to hire an attorney, there are FREE LEGAL RESOURCES available to help you decide how to handle your case. Go to texascourthelp.gov .
- If you fail to contact the Court, pay the scheduled fine, or enter a plea prior to your Court date, then you must appear in person at the Tomball Municipal Court on the date and time listed on your citation. If you fail to appear in Court, a new charge may be filed against you for failing to appear. A warrant may be issued for your arrest. You may have to pay additional fines and fees. You may also be denied renewal of your driver's license.
- If you have questions, please call or email the Court Clerk. It may take up to 7 days for your citation to be processed and entered into the Clerk's system, so please allow several days after your violation date before contacting the court.
- To look up your citation online go to View and pay court citations online .
- You may reschedule your Court date one time for any reason.
- Requests for continuance must be made in person, or by attorney, on or before the scheduled Court date. You must fill out and sign a "reset form" at the Court Clerk’s office.
- If you wish to reschedule your Court date more than once for any reason, you must file a written "Motion for Continuance" at the Court Clerk's office on or before the scheduled Court date. Depending on your circumstances, the Judge may or may not allow additional continuances.
- Trial date Motions for Continuance must be filed with the Court Clerk at least ten days prior to the scheduled trial date.
- If you are under 17 years of age, you must appear in Court with a parent or guardian.
- If you are a juvenile, you may not pay your fine or enter a plea without first appearing in Court.
Minors Charged with Alcohol Violations
- If you are under the age of 18 years and you are charged with an offense arising under the Texas Alcoholic Beverage Code, you must be appear in court with a parent or guardian.
- If you are a minor charged with an alcohol-related offense, you may not pay your fine or enter a plea without first appearing in Court.
Paying the Scheduled Fine
- If you are not a juvenile, you may waive your right to trial and pay the scheduled fine for your offense. Paying the scheduled fine will resolve your citation, but doing so will also result in a conviction on your record. Go to our "Fine Schedule" page to determine the amount of your scheduled fine. All convictions for moving violations are reported to Texas Department of Public Safety Records Division.
- Even if you do not wish to contest the charges against you, you may still be able to resolve your case without having a conviction. Go to our "Resolving Your Citation" page to better understand your options.
- The Court accepts cash, checks, and money orders by mail or in person. Checks and money orders should be made payable to "City of Tomball". Company checks and temporary checks are not acceptable.
- Credit cards (MasterCard and Visa) are accepted at the Court Clerk's office. Credit card holders need to appear in person with photo ID.
- No payments are taken over the telephone.
- You can make an ONLINE PAYMENT through our online payment option at Municipal Online Services. View and pay court citations online.
"What if I don't want to pay the scheduled fine?"
- You have other options. Study our web page "Resolving Your Citation".
- If you have questions about your other options, call our office during business hours and talk to our staff.
- If you are still not sure how to resolve your case, you should come to Court on your scheduled date to discuss your options.
Appearing in Court
- Don't be late!
- Wear suitable clothing. No shorts, tank tops, or halter tops. Clothing with offensive, vulgar, obscene, or racist slogans or depictions are not allowed. Clothing too tight or too short is not allowed.
- Weapons are not permitted anywhere in the Municipal Court building.
- Sit quietly in the courtroom whenever court is in session.
- When addressing the judge, stand a few feet back from the bench. Do not lean on the bench.
- Food, drinks, and chewing gum are not allowed in the courtroom.
- Smoking is prohibited by law in all areas of city buildings.
- All shirts should be tucked in.
- Hats and caps should be removed before entering the courtroom.
- Pagers and cell phones must be silenced before entering the courtroom.
- No recording or photography is allowed in the courtroom.