
IF YOU ARE REQUESTING DEFERRED DISPOSITION PLEASE READ THE FOLLOWING BEFORE 

SUBMITTING YOUR REQUEST FORM: 

Deferred Disposition Requirements  

The court offers the option to “defer” or postpone the disposition of your case and place you on probation for a specified period of time 
during which you must comply with certain terms and conditions.  Terms vary depending on the type of violation and not all 
violations have this option. At the end of your deferral period, if you have successfully completed the terms of your deferral in a timely 

manner, your violation will be dismissed .Nothing will go on your record outside of the Tomball Municipal Court. 

If any terms or conditions are not met and you cannot provide a satisfactory explaination at a hearing before a judge, you will be found 
guilty and a conviction will be reported to the Texas Department of Public Safety. 

Non-Eligibility: PLEASE DO NOT SUBMIT REQUEST FOR THE FOLLOWING CHARGES 

You are not eligible for a Deferred Disposition on a moving violation if you: 

 Are charged with:  

 Speeding 95 mph or speeding 25 mph or more above the posted speed limit 

 Leaving the scene of a collision. 

 Passing a School Bus. 

 Received your citation while driving in a Construction Zone when workers were present. 

 Have a commercial driver license even if the violation occurred while you were driving a private vehicle.  

There may be other reasons you are not eligible for a deferred disposition.  Each case is unique and must be reviewed prior to 
granting a deferred disposition.  If you send in paperwork and are not eligible, you will be notified by mail to appear at your 
assigned court date. 

*Note: It is important to keep the Court notified of your current mailing address so you do not miss important correspondence. 

Appearance at Court Required: 

You must appear at court to request a Deferred Disposition if: 

 You are a juvenile (under the age of 17). As a juvenile, you must appear in person with a parent or guardian at the date and 

time assigned by the court prior to requesting a deferred disposition.  Keep your address updated with the Court because 
notices will be mailed. 

 You are charged with a violation other than traffic, “no insurance”, no driver license or driving with license invalid, seat 
belt.  You may contact the court to determine if you are required to attend an appearance docket. 
 

 

Deferral Terms and Procedure: 

The terms and conditions of the various Deferred Disposition are NOT listed on the form. Your case will be reviewed by the Prosecutor 
and, if you are not eligible for a deferred disposition, you will receive notice in the mail asking you to make your preset court 

appearance. If you are eligible, a judge will consider your request and, if approved, you will have to come in during regular business 
hours to start the Deferred Disposition agreement . 

**NOTE** Anyone 25 and under by Texas law are automatically required to take a Driving Safety Course as a condition to their 
Deferred Disposition 

 

   

 



Tomball Municpal Court 

Deferred Disposition Request  
 

   
Name  :  _________________________________                                                                     

   Addr:   ________________________________ 

   City  :   ______________ STATE____ ZIP_____________        

                                                                                               

 DL No.:  ____________________                       

DOB:________                                 

              Ph. No: _____________________ 

 

    Citation No.: ______________                       Date Issued:_____________  

    Offense(s): _____________________________________  

I hereby enter a plea of “no contest” to the violation of ___________________________________________________  
and waive my right to a jury trial.  

 

                          I possess a valid Texas driver’s license or permit ( Commercial Driver’s License holders 

                            do not qualify)  

                         I DO NOT hold a commercial driver”s license 

                          I HAVE already taken a driving safety course in lieu of paying a fine in the past 12  

                            months or I am in the process of taking a safety course that is not yet reflected on  

                            my driving record. 

                         I HAVE NOT been placed on Deferred Dispositionin the past 12 months. 

                         I am NOT charged with speeding 25 or more miles over the posted speed limit. 

                I understand that if I have NOT taken a driving safety course in the past 12 months 

                               that deferred can be denied and I will have the option of requesting DSC.  

 

I request that the Court  allow me to complete a Deferred Disposition sentence for this case. I understand that if I successfully 

complete the terms of the Deferred Disposition in a timely manner, my case will be dismissed. If I do not successfully complete the 

terms of the Deferred Disposition, I will be sent a notice to appear in court to show cause why I did not complete the terms of this 

deferral. If cause is not sufficient, I understand that the Deferred Disposition will be revoked, a judgment of guilt entered, and the 

conviction will be reported to the Department of Public Safety to be placed on my driving record.  

 

Please state your reason for requesting deferred disposition. 

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 

 
Sworn before me this______ day of __________, 20____.  
 

 
__________________________   ______________________ or__________________________ 

Signature of Defendant   Deputy/Court Clerk  Notary Public in State of Texas 
          

My Commision Expires:____________ 
 

FOR  OFFICE  USE  ONLY 

 
Request:   GRANTED      DENIED 

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 

___________________________________________ 

        Prosecutor Signature              Date                                              

 
NOTE: JUVENILES  16 & UNDER ARE REQUIRED BY LAW TO APPEAR BEFORE THE COURT IN PERSON WITH A PARENT OR GUARDIAN 

FOR ALL VIOLOATIONS. 


