Go To Search
Click to Home
PrintEmailFacebookTwitter
Driver Safety Course
IMPORTANT: CAREFULLY READ OUR PAGES FOR "MUNICIPAL COURT" AND "RESOLVING YOUR CITATION" FIRST.

You may be eligible to request a driver safety course and have your citation dismissed. The request must be made in writing on or before the scheduled court date on your citation.

 Requirements:

  • You must have a valid Texas driver’s license. 
  • You must have proof of financial responsibility (liability insurance).
  • You must plea "Guilty" or "No Contest" to your alleged violation.
  • You must pay court costs and administrative fees.  Speeding and most other moving violations: $114.00.  Speeding in school zone and some other violations: $139.00.
  • You must provide a copy of your driving record.  You may download your driving record from the Texas DPS website.  www.dps.texas.gov/DriverLicense/driverrecords.htm

You Are Not Eligible if:

  • You took a driver safety course to dismiss a citation in the 12 months prior to the date of your violation.
  • You hold a commercial driver’s license.
  • You committed one of the following offenses:
    • Passing a school bus
    • Speeding 25 or more mph over the posted speed limit
    • Leaving the scene of an accident
    • Reckless driving
    • Duty to give information and render aid
    • Serious traffic violation as defined by Transportation Code 522.003(25)
    • An offense in a construction zone where workers are present

IF YOU ARE ELIGIBLE, YOU MUST REQUEST YOUR DRIVER SAFETY COURSE DISMISSAL NO LATER THAN THE COURT DATE LISTED ON YOUR CITATION.

Online Application

  • Download the application and Affidavit form from our "Forms" page.
  • Email or FAX completed application to the Court Clerk.  Complete the Affidavit, have it Notarized, and send it with your application.  The Clerk MUST receive your completed forms no later than your court date listed on your citation.  Send email to  or FAX to 281-351-6256.
  • Provide a good contact number, preferably your mobile phone number, in case the Court Clerk needs information to complete your application.
  • Submit copies of your Driver's License, Insurance, and Driving Record with your application.
  • Pay your court costs and administrative fees using our Online Payment link.
  • Once your completed application, documents, and payment are received, you will have 90 days to complete your Driver Safety Course and submit your original Certificate of Completion.  You MUST submit the original "court copy" of your Certificate. Sign the Certificate before you send it in.  If you mail the certificate, it MUST arrive at the Clerk's office within your 90 day compliance period.

The deadline for completing your driver safety course will not be extended.  Failure to comply will result in a conviction as well as additional fines and fees.